La La How The Life Goes On

Food Revolution Attempt #1

Posted on: November 5, 2013

I previously posted about Mr. Jamie Oliver’s ludicrous claim that his magazine could make me a better cook. I promised weekly updates on my recipe efforts.

Well. Let’s make that monthly. I’ve got two kids and a full life and I can’t be spending my free time making cucumbers in almond cream sauce just for kicks. If these were recipes I could cook up for the kids then it might be possible, but please trust when I say that no one in Casa de Jones is touching almond cream sauce with a ten foot telescoping fork.

So Attempt #1 was Sweet and Spicy Chicken Thighs. Again, the kids won’t eat it since they are effectively vegetarian ever since a family of wild turkeys took up residence in our neighborhood. So this was for the Dada and myself.

Okay, first of all, it wanted thighs and onions “cut into thick rings” in a baking dish. Listen, maybe you can stand there for 10 minutes getting circles out of an onion, but that is a knife injury waiting to happen in my case. So I just kind of chopped them however they turned out. Onion rings my ass.

Meanwhile I was to mix the honey, soy, lime, sweet chilli sauce, etc. Um…what is sweet chilli sauce? With two L’s. I googled it. I didn’t have any. I think. It’s a British version of a Thai sauce, apparently. So I called the Dada in a panic and we threw something together. Vinegar and whatnot. Poured it all over the chicken and onion rings piecesparts. Put it all in the oven at Gas Mark 4.

The recipe said if the sauce was still runny after the 30 minutes I should put the tray “over the hob” and cook it some more. The sauce was still runny. So I called my Scottish mother to ask her what a hob is so I could put my chicken thighs over it. It’s the gas burners, apparently. From the days of cooking at a fireplace. So, over the hob it went. Somewhat more sticky it got. But not really.

Then we ate it. And it was unbelievably very okay. Not awesome. Not horrible. Just kind of fine. I would recommend slicing the thighs up half way through the cooking so that more of the chicken actually touched the sweet and spicy sauce. As it was, once you bit through the outer part of the chicken, the rest was just…plain chicken. Feh. I’d also recommend actually having British Thai Chilli Sauce on hand. And definitely be sure you have a hob.

20131028_180940

20131028_205126

4 Responses to "Food Revolution Attempt #1"

Go, Mama, go! Go, mama, go! 🙂

Way to go, Mama! But taste is overrated – “fine” is just fine. It’s all in the presentation. A good food stylist and you’ll be on the way to culinary greatness.

Esther you so make me laugh. Davy R. PS We went to St As last month. Even smaller than I remember…..

You are well on your way to being a great UK chef! You already have the mouth of Gordon Ramsey and now the culinary chops of Jamie Oliver! If you can just find a butcher to give you a sheep’s stomach for a proper Haggis and your transformation will be complete! 🙂

Leave a Reply

