La La How The Life Goes On

Happy Adoption Day: The Sequel

Posted on: March 15, 2014

This is for our younger daughter who came rolling into our lives four years ago as a toddler, almost 5 years to the day after her big sister. I’m supposed to say it was the Happiest Day of My Life, but it just wasn’t. You’re only as happy as your unhappiest child, even if you’ve only known her for a few minutes. So her actual adoption day was a heartbreak because she was so sad and confused.  I was filled with love and gratitude for her, but I was not happy or joyous or anything at all celebratory in the least. I was sad for her, worried for her, and hoping I was worthy of the leap of faith and trust this beautiful, scared little person was taking toward us. I just wanted to tell her that everything would be okay, that she was safe, that she was loved. “Mama zhe li” (Mama is here) and “Bie haipa” (Don’t be afraid) were all I had to offer. By the grace of God, it was a start. And now we are here! Four years–and so much fun, happiness, joy, love, and laughter–later, I know the Happiest Day of My Life with this little girl is today, tomorrow and every single day to come.

Limerick for My Youngest Daughter

Cute little Love from Taizhou

Disliked me from the word Go

I looked funny and blonde

Thank God you were fond

Of your Dada and sister, hey-ho.

Sweet little Love of my heart

Always ready to laugh at a fart

You bring us such joy

Such pride–and such oy!

Being funny, for you, is an art.

Beautiful Love of my soul

A good time is always your goal.

You’re mighty and strong

Which we’ve known all along

You do nothing by half, only whole.

Wondrous Love in the world

I thank heaven that you are my girl.

Our family’s complete

With you, brave and sweet,

We all let our freak flag unfurl!

Leave a Reply

